Edo guber: Sheriff’s faction issues forms to candidates for fresh PDP primaries


The crisis in the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) is continuing, as the Senator Ali-Modu Sherrif’s faction has started issuance of nomination forms to persons willing to contest in another governorship primary election in Edo State.

A lawmaker representing Egor/Ikpoba Okha Federal Constituency in Edo State, Honourable Ehiozuwa Johnson-Agbonayinma, told reporters that he had picked the nomination form for an election to be organised by the Sherrif’s faction.

Honourable Agbonayinma purchased the form in Abuja.

He later addressed reporters in Benin City on Saturday, stressing that, as a lawmaker he was convinced that the only legally recognised PDP in Nigeria was that headed by Senator Sheriff.

The Ahmed Makarfi-led PDP had conducted its Edo State governorship primary election on Monday, June 20 which produced Mr Osagie Ize-Iyamu as flag bearer for the PDP.

Senator Sheriff had on Thursday set up another committee to conduct primaries for three PDP governorship candidates in Edo State, who have bought forms from his faction.

He said the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had sent the party their guidelines for the primaries, expressing preparedness to meet up with all the requirements set by the INEC for the September election.

The PDP is facing leadership crisis, with Senator Sheriff laying claims to the leadership of the party after he was removed at a convention held in Port Harcourt, the capital of Rivers State.

After his removal, a caretaker committee was set up led by Senator Makarfi, but Senator Sheriff said his removal violated a court order issued in relation to the party’s convention, which he also claimed nullified every decision taken at that convention.

He insists he is the leader of the party seen as the strongest opposition to the ruling party in Nigeria.

Members of the party have accused him of sabotaging the efforts of the party to reorganise itself after it lost power in the 2015 election to the All Progressives Congress.