Borno Govt. dissolves caretaker committees of LGAs

The Borno Government, on Friday, dissolved the Caretaker Committees of the 27 local government areas of the State. Alhaji Usman Zannah, the Commissioner for Local Government and Emirate Affairs, announced the disolution in a statement in Maiduguri. Zannah explained that the action followed the approval by Gov. Kashim Shettima.

The commissioner added that the dissolution was in line with the State LGA Law 2000, as amended. “Gov. Kashim Shettima has approved the dissolution of the 27 LGA Caretaker Committees. “This is in line with the state LGA law 2000 as amended,” Zannah said. He directed the affected chairmen to handover the affairs of their respective LGAs to the secretaries of the councils.