Dickson appoints oppoisiton party members into new cabinet

The Bayelsa State Governor, Henry Seriake Dickson, on Wednesday constituted a 14-member State Executive Council and made history by bringing on board chieftains of the All Progressives Congress as part of his 20 Special Advisers to consolidate on the achievements of his Restoration Government.

This was the first time such gesture would be taking place in the history of Bayelsa State.
The APC members who made the list are Ben Iyororokumo (Special Adviser on Inter Party Relations) and Clever Lawrence, Special Adviser (Information, Communication and Technology Development).
Governor Dickson, who performed the inauguration of the Commissioners and Special Advisers in Yenagoa, said the appointment of members of the opposition was in fulfillment of an earlier promise to run an all-inclusive government, regardless of party affiliations.
He urged members of his cabinet to see their appointment as a call to greater commitment, selflessness and loyalty to the government of the day.
The Governor, who noted that much was achieved in the development of the state in the last four years, said the appointees were expected to be resourceful and redouble their efforts at ensuring that the government delivers the dividends of democracy, particularly in the light of the prevailing economic challenges.
Those who retained their portfolios were the Commissioner of Works and Infrastructure, Lawrence Ewhrudjakpor; Trade, Industry and Investment, Kemela Okara; Housing Development, Julius Otele; Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Kemeasuode Wodu; Power, Chief Partner Jim-Ogbolo; and Special Projects, Mr. Fred Obuah.

Other commissioners, who were retained, are Buruboyefe Perekiye, Sports Development; and Kia Ebidiseghabofa Nigeria, Special Duties, Central Senatorial district; while Mrs. Agatha Goma was given the portfolio of Local Government Administration, Dude Week is Agriculture and Natural Resources and Jonathan Obuebite mans the Information and Orientation Ministry.
Also, Dauprebo Ikuromo heads Special Duties East, Kuroakeagha Dorgu is in charge of Lands and Survey, while Tubonah Talbot is the Commissioner for Water Resources.
The Special Advisers are Chief Fyneman Wilson, Political Matters One; Stephen Diver, Political Matters Two; Tam Alazigha, Investment Promotion; Christiana Ebbeli, Women Mobilization; Helen Bob, Talent Development and Gender Education; and Chief Benson Agadaga, Establishment Affairs.
Dr. Benneth Igbami, Legal Matters; Robinson Etolor, Local Government Affairs; Elizabeth Bidei, Women in Politics; Godspower Akeh, Agriculture; Francis Ikio, Energy; Pastor Samuel John-Peters, Religious Matters; Hon. Victor Sam-Ateki, Parastatal Monitoring and Revenue.
Others are Felix Bonny-Ayah, Oil and Gas; Ben Iyororokumo, Inter-Party Relations; Clever Lawrence, ICT Development; Ibarakumo Otobo, Youth Affairs; and Sobre Appah, State Capital Development.
Meanwhile, Governor Dickson promised that more appointments would be made in the days ahead and urged the people of the state to continue to support the government to achieve its vision of human and infrastructural development.