FIFA unveils 10 prominent World Football Stars for the Puskás Award


The Federation of International Football Association (FIFA), on Monday, August 19, unveiled the 10 candidates shortlisted for the Puskás Award.

According to FIFA, fans of the football stars are expected to cast their votes, noting that, voting will close on the midnight of September 1.

“The wait is over for goal-hungry football fans across the globe, and now it is time for you to cast your vote for the FIFA Puskás Award.”

“The much-anticipated 10-goal shortlist for the best goal of the year, has been revealed, with Club members now able to vote.

“Voting is open until Monday, 1st September, (at midnight CEST), but do not delay, make your choice today!” it added.

Liverpool’s Mo Salah, won the award in 2018, based on his virtuoso goal against Everton, in the Premier League.

Those shortlisted are:

Matheus Cunha (BRA), Bayer Leverkusen v RB Leipzig [Bundesliga] (6th April, 2019).

Zlatan Ibrahimović (SWE), Toronto FC v LA Galaxy [MLS] (15th September, 2018).

Lionel Messi (ARG), Real Betis v FC Barcelona [La Liga] (17th March, 2019).

Ajara Nchout (CMR), Cameroon v New Zealand [FIFA Women’s World Cup] (20th June, 2019).

Fabio Quagliarella (ITA), Sampdoria v Napoli [Serie A] (2nd September, 2018).

Juan Fernando Quintero (COL), River Plate v Racing Club [Argentinian Superliga] (10th February, 2019).

Amy Rodriguez (USA), Utah Royals v Sky Blue FC [NWSL] (16th June, 2019).

Billie Simpson (NIR), Sion Swifts Ladies FC v Cliftonville Ladies FC [Women’s NIFL Premiership] (9th August, 2018).

Andros Townsend (ENG), Manchester City v Crystal Palace [Premier League] (22nd December, 2018).

Dániel Zsóri (HUN), Debrecen FC v Ferencváros TC [Nemzeti Bajnoskag I] (16th February, 2019).

“After the close of public voting, the top three goals selected by the users will be put up for a vote among FIFA Legends, who will decide the winner of the FIFA Puskás Award.

“The full voting and award process is explained in the rules of allocation”, the site advised.