Senate Presidency: APC Picks Lawan as Sole Candidate

The All Progressives Congress following a primary election on Saturday has picked Senator Ahmed Lawan and Senator George Akume as sole candidates for the position of President and Deputy Senate President of the 8th Senate respectively.

The primary election which was conducted by the National Working Committee of the APC at the International Conference Centre, Abuja was boycotted by Lawan’s opponent Senator Bukola Saraki.

National Secretary of the Party, Mala Buni, who served as returning officer announced that 33 Senators were accredited to vote after which Lawan got 32 votes and one vote was declared invalid.

Both Lawan and Saraki groups had early on Saturday signed an agreement to abide by the outcome of the party’s primaries.

But Saraki’s group, which boasted of 65 senators across party lines, in a statement vowed to participate only in the constitutional election scheduled for Tuesday when the Ninth Senate would be inaugurated.

It said this was in line with the rules of the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

In an election held at the International Conference Centre, Abuja on Saturday night, Lawan scored 32 votes, while Senator George Akume got 31 to emerge as Deputy Senate President candidate.

In a statement by Senators-elect of Like Minds, the group backing Saraki’s Senate presidency candidacy, it decried the primaries by the APC.

It was gathered that Saraki has continued pursuing the alliance across party lines to emerge the Senate president.

That alliance is said to be premised on support from the People’s Democratic Party, which has the second largest representative in the Senate.

He is said to have wooed a lot of members of the PDP, the platform on which he served as governor of Kwara State for eight years and was also elected senator for his first four years in the National Assembly.

Source: The Herald